CTS Library

Produced by the American Theological Library Association (ATLA), this database combines the premier indexing from ATLA Religion Database with access to ATLA's online full-text collection of major religion and theology journals. Nearly full coverage of 1,769 journal from 1908 to the present. Full text records are provided for more than 1.8 million journal articles, essays, reviews, and book records. Remote access to this database is limited to currently registered CTS students, CTS faculty (including emeriti), and CTS staff.

Produced by the American Theological Library Association (ATLA), this database combines the premier indexing from ATLA Religion Database with access to ATLA's online full-text collection of major religion and theology journals. Nearly full coverage of 1,769 journal from 1908 to the present. Full text records are provided for more than 1.8 million journal articles, essays, reviews, and book records.

The Atla Websites on Religion (WOR) LibGuide (formerly, the Wabash Center Internet Guide to Religion) is a growing, selective, annotated collection of web resources for the study of religion. The intended audience could broadly be defined as anyone interested in religion and theology — but more specifically — librarians serving students and researchers in the fields of theology and religion.

The Department of Biblical Studies and Historical Theology at the University of Innsbruck (Austria) indexes European periodicals, many of which are not indexed by ATLA.

This link provides access to several CTS-owned ebooks. The books are mostly in the areas of religious and biblical studies.

The premiere index for philosophical literature. Indexes philosophy periodicals from over 139 different countries. Includes over 200 full-text titles, more than half of which provide full-text for even the most recently published issues. The CTS Library subscription only permits one licensed user at a time. So if you can't access it, wait a little bit, and then try again.

A selective bibliography of academic articles covering all the fields of Jewish Studies as well as the study of Eretz Israel and the State of Israel. Contains over 350,000 records have been collected from academic journals.

This database provides English language abstracts only of articles in English and a myriad of international languages. Included are objective summaries of articles appearing in scholarly journals in the fields of Religion and Theology. It indexes a wide variety of periodical literature and includes topics on practical aspects of ministry often not found in the ATLA Religion Database. Remote access is not available.

A searchable database of indexes and abstracts for Doctor of Ministry (D.Min.) projects and theses from programs accredited by the Association of Theological Schools (ATS). Compiled by the ATLA.

This is a subset of the Google search engine that specifically targets theological journals and periodicals. It targets some 1,500 Web sites/pages to retrieve full text articles from hundreds of open access journals and other periodicals related to religious studies, scripture studies, systematic & practical theology, and cognate disciplines.

The African American Lectionary is a resource tool that integrates moments of significance across many African American ecclesial traditions with the traditional moments of the lectionary cycle. As of December 2013, the website contained more than 200,000 pages of free material. The Lectionary concluded placing new material on its site as of December 2013 but the website will remain up until December 2016.

The Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA) strives to democratize access to the best data on religion. Founded as the American Religion Data Archive in 1997 and going online in 1998, the initial archive was targeted at researchers interested in American religion. The targeted audience and the data collection have both greatly expanded since 1998, now including American and international collections and developing features for educators, journalists, religious congregations, and researchers. Data included in the ARDA are submitted by the foremost religion scholars and research centers in the world.

This ATLA Historical Monographs collection contains 6,164 monographs profiling Christian Biblical studies in the 19th and early 20th centuries. Biblical studies during this time exploded with new critical tools and the discovery of ancient manuscript materials. Collection texts are focused in three areas: (1) New Testament, (2) Old Testament, and (3) reference works such as dictionaries, language primers, and concordances.

The Christian Classics Ethereal Library (CCEL) is a digital library of hundreds of classic Christian books selected for edification and education. These books may be downloaded and printed because they’re in the public domain (i.e., their copyright has expired).

This ATLA Historical Monographs collection contains 3,154 monographs that reflect how Christians lived out their faith in the form of sermons, worship, and piety. The collection features over 700 texts of either individual or collected sermons from over 400 authors, including Lyman Beecher, Henry Ward Beecher, Dwight Lyman Moody, Charles Grandison Finney, Friedrich Schleiermacher, and Francis Xavier Weninger.

Features dozens of intelligent, made-for-television video interviews with leading scientists, philosophers, theologians, and other scholars on the topics of Cosmos, Consciousness, and God.

This online collection developed by Duke Divinity School contains the complete known poetical works (hymns and texts) by Charles Wesley. It is committed to providing the broadest and most convenient access possible for scholarly study and citation. The collection presents all of the known surviving manuscripts and includes the large collection of the Methodist Archive and Research Centre at The John Rylands University Library in Manchester, England and manuscript items located at a number of other sites.

Developed by the Yale University Divinity School Library, this comprehensive list for religious studies includes links to many free online resources, including encyclopedias and dictionaries, sermon resources, images, and statistics.

A multilingual online library offering access free of charge to more than 650,000 full-text articles, journals, books and other resources. Focus is on theology, intercultural and interreligious dialogue, ethics, and ecumenism in World Christianity.

A large, growing collection of scholarly podcasts providing very thorough coverage of the history of Western philosophy from the pre-Socratics through the 13th century.

A comprehensive index of hymns and hymnals.

The official journal of the Society for Pastoral Theology. Established in 1990, it publishes twice each year in Summer and Winter issues.

A joint project of ATLA and Boston College, this database contains over 70,000 article abstracts, review abstracts, and book summaries on the New Testament and its historical milieu.

A joint project of ATLA and the Catholic Biblical Association, this database features indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies.

This collection of e-books relating to the development of theology during the Post-Reformation/early modern era (ca. 16th-18th c.) is maintained by Calvin College.

Religion and Gender is a refereed online, open access, international journal dedicated to the systematic study of gender and religion in an interdisciplinary perspective.

This ATLA Historical Monographs collection contains 1,754 monographs that chronicle 19th and 20th century social change movements as they relate to religion. Movements and debates such as abolition, women's rights, the advent of the social sciences, church and state, socialism, religion and science, evolution, and education reforms are all represented in this window into the seismic changes that took place in society. Authors range from devoutly religious to staunchly secular 19th-century thinkers and include Rousseau, Darwin, Jung, Durkheim, Kierkegaard, Beecher Stowe, Emerson, Spencer, Kant, and Dewey.

Full texts by recognized religious scholars. More than 6,000 articles and chapters. Topics include Old and New Testament, Theology, Ethics, History and Sociology of Religion, Communication and Cultural Studies, Pastoral Care, Counseling, Homiletics, Worship, Missions and Religious Education. Religion Online is managed and monitored by Claremont School of Theology as a public service to scholars all over the world.

The Revised Common Lectionary is a three-year cycle of weekly lections used to varying degrees by the vast majority of mainline Protestant churches in Canada and the United States. The RCL is built around the seasons of the Church Year, and includes four lections for each Sunday, as well as additional readings for major feast days. During most of the year, the lections are: a reading from the Hebrew Bible, a Psalm, a reading from the Epistles, and a Gospel reading. During the season of Easter, the Hebrew Bible lection is usually replaced with one from the Acts of the Apostles. The lections from the Hebrew Bible are sometimes chosen from the Apocrypha. The online Revised Common Lectionary is a project of the Vanderbilt Divinity Library.

The Theological Commons is a digital library of over 150,000 resources on theology and religion. Developed in partnership with the Internet Archive, it contains books, journals, audio recordings, photographs, manuscripts, and other formats dating from 975 C.E. to the present.